ADVICE GIVING, LIFESTYLE BLOGGER

Friday, 12 May 2017

Almost Adulting By Arden Rose


For fans of Alexa Chung and Grace Helbig comes a fresh-faced, hilarious guide on growing up in your own way from social media influencer and lifestyle vlogger Arden Rose.

In Almost Adulting - a book fit for budding adults, failing adults and eaters of microwave mug brownies, Arden welcomes us to the future, where there are more things to know than ever before. Topics include:

  • Making internet friends who are cool and not murderers 
  • Flirting with someone in a way to make them think you are cool and not a murderer
  • Being in an actual relationship where you talk about your feelings in a healthy manner??? To the other person???????
  • Eating enough protein 
  • Assembling a somewhat acceptable adult sense of style when you have zero dollars
  • Going on adventures without starting to smell and 
  • How sex is supposed to feel, but, like, actually though 
On top of;

  • Dealing with Trichotillomania and other Mental Health problems
  • Her two-year relationship with Will Darbyshire; including their first encounter, their budding romance and all the things in between as well as 
  • The pros and cons of online friendships/online dating
By the end of this read - which consists of essays, lists and illustrations - you'll have learnt not only how to dress yourself, how to travel alone, how to talk to strangers online and how to date strangers (in PERSON!), but how to pass as a real life, functioning, appropriately socialized adult/human being.

Above all I thoroughly enjoyed Arden's take on Almost Adulting as a whole and found her honesty and candid thoughts somewhat refreshing. I appreciated how she was able to put a real focus on it being more of a memoir, than your typical generic advice book and feel that Arden and I connected on many levels; particularly when it comes to long-distance relationships, struggling to connect with people in person and her condition; Trichotillomania - a condition wherein a person feels compelled to pull their hair out, as I have a tendency to pull my own eyebrow hair out when I'm feeling anxious or stressed. 
SHARE:
Blogger Template Created by pipdig